Welcome to my Ayurveda & Life Blog

Namaste!

My mother taught me this when I was the tender age of about 10. It means:

I honour that place in you where the whole universe resides. I honour that place in you of truth, of light, of love and of peace

I honour that place in you, where if you are in that place in you, and I am in that place in me, there is only one of us.

Now that my professional life is taking me into cyberspace – I have decided to maintain a blog about Ayurveda & Life. To begin, I thought I would share with you a little it about why I do what I do. So here goes…

Why I ‘do’ Ayurveda

I have always been curious about how things work and strive to get the feeling that I have got to the truth of the matter. I have also always had an impulsion to share information with others – you could say I am a compulsive educator (my poor wife would have to agree). I just love to help people understand things.

As a teenager, my friends told me “you are lecturing us again Alex”. Years later, while completing my PhD in electronics and music, I came across Ayurveda and it struck me as an incredibly logical and intuitive way of looking at the human condition – both physically and psychically.

Before I knew it, I was hooked, and since that moment, there has been no turning back. The marriage of my engineering background, where our mantra was always “Kiss – Keep It Stupid Simple”, with Ayurveda’s somewhat esoteric approach has been interesting to say the least. I honestly don’t consider myself to be a 100% ‘convert’, rather, I like to think of my life as one man’s experiment to see how the best of both worlds can be successfully joined in marriage, so to speak!

Central to Ayurveda is the concept that nature heals. When the right foods and medicines are used in a natural, unprocessed form, they help our minds and bodies obtain optimal health. In a similar way, engineering design has found some of its best solutions by closely observing nature’s most elegant designs.

So why do I do it? Why do I teach Ayurveda, whether to groups or individuals? I guess because I feel that I am helping people towards increased health and happiness in a way that respects nature rather than trampling all over it.

Leave a Reply

